calling all fatties!

So I’m sitting on a couple of panels at this weekend’s Civil Liberties and Public Policy (CLPP) conference, From Abortion Rights to Social Justice: Building the Movement for Reproductive Freedom, and I’ll be talkin’ fatty things!

I want to make sure I am offering up a wide variety of resources for attendees to use if they want to dive further into these issues, so I would love your comments/suggestions!

One panel is on food justice, and while my work isn’t directly on point with this area of activism, I was asked to bring the perspective of a fat activist and challenge folks to think about how we label food as “good” or “bad,” how classism can be inherent in a lot of conversations around food justice (you know, the old “if everyone ate whole foods and made their meals from scratch, people wouldn’t be so fat!” trope), and offer examples of how to incorporate fat activism into food justice work. Anyone have examples of how this is done well? Or have articles/books/resources I can point people to? I, of course, have done and will continue to do research, but I wanted to get ya’lls input as well.

The second panel is more in my wheelhouse, as I’ve been asked to speak about how fat activists have challenged media culture around bodies by sharing stories and building community. Hey, like I’m doing right now! I’d like to also point attendees to some great spaces on the interwebs regarding body image (think OOTDs, fatshion blogs, etc), but I have not been particularly active on Tumblr in the past several months. I would love some suggestions as to great Tumblrs that showcase various fat bodies, focusing particularly on folks who identify as queer and/or people of color, and of course would not turn away additional online resources you can think of!

Thank you in advance for your thoughts! I appreciate that CLPP understands just how important it is to discuss fat and body image issues within the reproductive health, rights, and justice movement. And if any of you will be at CLPP, lemme know so we can fatty high five!

Leave a Reply

